Yes that’s true. Google is known for pioneering new things, and this time they have leveraged some power to end users to control how the search result appears to them. In other words now an individual searcher has the ability to let a website appear in his/her search result. That means if you are nagged by irrelevant websites appearing in your search result, you can just block those sites and from next time those sites will not appear in your search result for that keyword search as well as that domain is altogether blocked from your search result. This is obviously a welcome move from Google. And low quality sites will get blocked/hidden by many experienced searchers.
Overview of the feature
With the latest set of improvements in Google search, it is now possible to control the appearance of websites in the search result. So when you are searching for something in Google and you clicked on a result but found that the resulting website is irrelevant to your search, you can block that website and it will not appear in your future search result.
This feature is currently available for search result in google.com in English for users with Chrome 9+, Firefox 3.5+ and Internet Explorer 8+. So if you are using an outdated browser then I am sorry, you will not have any luck.
How this works?
– Go to google.com and not any other Google domains like google.co.in
– Search for something and on the result page click on any search result, now go back to the search result page.
– You will see a new link (beside cached, similar) appearing near the search result where you clicked.
– Hover the mouse over the new link (block all example.com results) and it will tell you Not helpful, you can block example.com search result when you are signed in to search). Click on that block all example.com results and t will vanish with a nice funky effect from your search result page. And it will give a notification saying we will not show you results from example.com again with a Link to Manage Blocked sites and Undo the action.
– Now try to search for the same query again and you will see the particular website is no longer appearing in the search result. However at the bottom of the search page you will see an alert like you blocked X results from example.com
– The above mentioned things will work irrespective of you logged in to your Google account. However when you are signed in, then only the block for the website/domain will be confirmed and you will be able to manage the domain.
Note: In the year 2005 Google search introduced a feature called remove result but it was taken down before it was rolled out to every one. (Thanks Alex Chitu for this info). This feature has been announced by Google blog